This monastery is one of the largest and richest of Mount Athos. It has the central church, several chapels, bank, library and much more. It was built in the 10th century and in 1198 it was given to the Serbian rulers Stefan Nemanja and his son Rastko. In the 14th century, the monastery flourished.
The most important relics are the miraculous images of PANAGIA TRICHEROUSA ,of PANAGIA ODIGITRIA and of PANAGIA GALAKTOTROFOUSA. Also at the library there are several scripts and forms, both Greek and Serbian, which has great value and the frescoes of all the buildings are admirable.