The monastery was founded in the 10th century by three brothers, Moses, Aaron and John from Ohrid. It is dedicated to St. George's memory. It is located in the southwestern region. This monastery has been destroyed and rebuilt again many times.
Although at the beginning Bulgarian, Greek and Serb monks lived there, from 1845 and after there are only Bulgarians. Two miraculous icons( “Saint George”, “Virgin Mary”) and several ecclesiastical relics are kept there. Last but not least its library is remarkable and it has projects of significant value.